Luxury self contained accommodation, Kerikeri Bay of Islands New Zealand  

Guest Reviews

We always enjoy providing our guests with a relaxing and comfortable stay at Avalon Resort.  Many contact us again to return for another visit, share their enthusiasm with friends and thank us for ensuring they had a stress free stay.

Below are a selection of quotes from some of our recent guests.  If you have stayed and wish to share your experience with others please feel free to email us, leave a review a our Trip Advisor page or visit our new Facebook page. 

AA Travel Been There Traveller Reviews

"Absolute Heaven. The most relaxing weekend in the most idyllic setting. The location is perfect. The cottages are spotlessly clean and serviced every day. The bed was so comfortable - have not had a nights sleep like that in ages. We did not tire of the view over the fields - it was gorgeous. The owner Willem was so helpful and did everything with a smile. There is even a river at the bottom of the property which you can kayak down. Thankyou Willem for a fabulous stay..we will be back for sure." Sep 2010 - view review on Tripadvisor

"Great place - can't rate it higher. Received a warm welcome, good advice and information about the area. The accommodation was very clean, stylish and a delight to stay in. The setting is quiet and peaceful yet just 2 mins from town. Will definately come again."
Raeleen, Aug 2010 - view review on Travelbug

"Excellent place.  We stayed 11 days with 2 children (5 and 3 years old) and enjoyed the fantastic place. The cottages are well equipped, very nice furniture and a beautiful view from the balcony. Internet access worked perfectly. Our kids loved the animals and the possibility to play in the water. It was one of the highlights during our 3 months trip through New Zealand. Thanks to Willem and his family for the great time we had! Moritz wants to greet Julia and Louis still talks about the chicken walking around the place." Jan 26, 2010 - view review on Tripadvisor

"Relaxing, high quality accommodation but close to all the action of the BOI.  We stayed for 4 nights over New Year with our 2 children (ages 4 and 5) and had the most relaxing stay. The cottages are very well equiped and although compact, provide high quality accomodation and everything we needed. The location is gorgeous and the children loved the river swimming and kayaking, the animals and trampoline. Kerikeri is lovely, esp the Pear Tree restaurant, Rainbow Falls walk etc and Avalon Resort is about 20 mins to all the hustle and bustle, trips etc in Paihia. Willem was a great host, very helpful and has done a great job in creating a lovely holiday spot. We will return!" Jan 2010 - view review on Tripadvisor 

"Great place ! Quiet and with a nice attention to details. So relaxing. Definitely recommend it !" Vivienne, Nov 2009 - view review on Travelbug

"The nicest place that we have stayed during our year in NZ.  We stayed here for 1 night and thoroughly enjoyed everything about the Avalon. We couldn't believe how lovely the surrounding gardens were. The hosts were both friendly and informative and made us feel very welcome. The room was lovely, with a fantastic 4 poster bed and smart furniture throughout. If only we could have stayed longer!!"  Oct 2009 - view review on Trip Advisor

"Magical, Romantic Retreat.  It's not the first time we've stayed in Kerikeri, but the first time we've stayed at the Avalon.  With just the 4 cottages we were pretty sure we would get the peace and privacy we were wanting - and were not disappointed.  We stayed in the "Earth" cottage, serene earthy colours - and I guess the highlights were the draped 4-poster bed, and the private balcony.
The cottage was very comfortable, everything we needed, and all "shiny and new".
Willem was very helpful, even providing us with a laptop during our 3 night stay.
So ~ yes, would certainly recommend, and a great place to base your Northland holiday.  We stayed 3 nights, but would have liked longer."
 
Oct 2009 - view review on Trip Advisor 

"Just a quick email to let you know how much Maddy and I enjoyed our stay at your resort. Everything was perfect, and we would like to thank you for the flowers and the bubbles, and making us feel welcome. We have stayed in many places around the world and put yours at the top of our list, and will gladly let family and friends know about Avalon Resort."           Sep 2009, Phil and Maddy Pottinger

"Peace, tranquility and comfort. We have stayed at Avalon several times now, and are always welcomed warmly. The cottages are beautifully decorated and furnished, and the views of the lush garden and stream are very scenic. After a long drive, a glass of wine and relaxing on the private balcony is sublime, with the soft sound of water in the stream washing away stresses of work. We would highly recommend Avalon.Sep 2009 - view review on Trip Advisor

"The best venue in Kerikeri. We booked the cottage there and arrived being caught by surprise - the resort is simply fantastic! Views, surroundings, cottages, service - everything at Avalon is second to none! I can hardly imagine a better place to stay in Kerikeri, especially with young children. Our son broke into tears when we were about to depart asking for another day there! Thank you very much, Willem!"  July 2009 - view review on Trip Advisor 

"Top accommodation, very affordable and a great location...Avalon Resort turned out to be the perfect pick. The accommodation is very clean and extra comfortable with nice kitchen facilities...The owners are very helpful and hospitable. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and tended and the ducks, chickens and pigs provide a very nice rustic feel even though the property is right in town..." July  2009 - view full review on Trip Advisor
"A world away yet so close to town.  We have stayed at Avalon Resort several times now and enjoy each stay as if it is our first. The hosts are gracious and welcoming. The cottages are immaculately presented, tastefully furnished and well equipped. It is very easy to relax and unwind in such a peaceful setting...We look forward to our next stay. Ainsley & Andrea of Whangarei."  June 2009 - view full review on Trip Advisor
"Quiet getaway from the big bad city...A great place to base yourself to check out the North of NZ...A fantastic operation with free-range animals to boot, there has been a lot of effort put in to establish and run this business...We reviewed loads of similar operations in the area before staying here - this is the pick of the bunch."     June 2009 - view full review on Trip Advisor

"A piece of heaven.  After seven weeks touring New Zealand we found our piece of Heaven at Avalon Resort. Willem and Betty made us feel like we were friends rather than clients. The cottage was just beautiful with every convenience and the bed was pure bliss.  Almost the best part though was the magnificent grounds- a secluded valley in the heart of Kerikeri which Willem has transformed with ponds, a waterfall, gardens, trees and wildlife.  The free internet, wine and fruit juice were the icing on the cake. We left here very reluctantly and hope to one day return. Thank you Willem and Betty for a great three days."     June 2009 - view full review on Trip Advisor

"This was one of the highlights of our journey through New Zealand. We'll never forget this place and hope we will be able to come back one day. The view from the cottage was beautiful, the welcome-wine was a lovely and thoughtful touch, the family of ducks was very funny... It almost seemed too good to be true...that's how amazing the experience was! Thanks"  Karin Hooijman, Feb 2009 - view full comment on Facebook


 

 

Avalon Resort in the 
			Weekend & Shortbreaks Magazine, 2010

Read about Avalon Resort in the Weekend & ShortBreaks Magazine 2010

(Click on the image to download PDF)

 

 

 

AA Travel Been There Traveller Reviews

Two little piggies

Two Littie Piggies, not so little anymore!

 

guest_and_river.jpg

One of our guests enjoying the Puketotora river, posted on Flickr.com

 

goat_at_avalon_resort.jpg

A photo taken of our goat by a visiting guest, posted on Flickr.com

Back to top